Kylee Shields


Kylee Professional.jpg

My name is Kylee and I am passionate about life. I am the oldest of 8 children and have the most amazing parents ever. I have two adorable nieces and one handsome & squishy nephew. I grew up in Oregon, moved my senior year of high school to Utah, then moved to San Diego, Boston, Arizona and recently moved back to Utah.

I went to BYU and got my BA in English (creative writing/Editing) and a minor in Linguistics. I love words and writing! There is something very powerful in putting words together and expressing human emotions. I love poetry, reading great novels, blogging, etc. I am an author and avid reader. I love learning new words and can trace that back to my mom who has the most amazing vocabulary.

I also attended ASU and got my Masters in Social Work (emphasis in child & family therapy). I have always been drawn to the "punk kids" and absolutely love my job. I left my job working as a Shadow (family therapist) at The ANASAZI Foundation to go work at the Oakley School (therapeutic boarding school) in Oakley, UT (between Kamas & Park City) and I now work at Telos U, a specialized program for young adults transitioning to higher levels of freedom and responsibility in Orem, Ut

When I am not with my family, hanging out with my friends, or working I absolutely love to travel. I have been to Egypt, Ghana, Italy, Mexico, Canada, Ireland, Scotland, Colombia, Dominican Republic, and almost all 50 of the states. I love music--singing, writing songs, playing the piano, and listening to other musicians. 6 years ago I co-founded the nonprofit  INSPIRE: music. service.hope and INSPIRE has expanded to include  INSPIRE Entertainment, our Music, Dance, Theater, Preschool, Studios in 2 locations (Mesa/ Gilbert, AZ).



When I turned 26 I really didn't know what kind of a career I wanted but I knew I wanted to do some exploring so I joined AmeriCorps' VISTA Program and got a job as the Volunteer Coordinator at Adoption & Foster Care Mentoring (AFC Mentoring) which is now Silver Lining Mentoring in Boston, MA. The following year I stayed in Boston and got a job with Big Brothers and Big Sisters of Massachusetts Bay (BBBSMB). Working with children, adolescents, & families in the Foster Care and Mentoring Systems helped solidify for me that I wanted to dedicate my life to working with struggling teens.

The next step was to get my Masters Degree in Social Work at Arizona State University (ASU).  During my formal studies at ASU I had many opportunities to learn and grown. Many of experiences during those two years changed my life.  During my first year Fall Break I was able to take a 6 week trip to Ghana West Africa, the summer between my first and second year of my Master's Program I was hired to be a Summer Camp Therapist at Point of Pines in San Carlos, AZ on the Apache Native American Reservation, and my first Internship was with Arizona Children's Association, where I hit the ground running as a social worker (adoption case worker).

During my second year at ASU my Internship started at A & A Cottages but after 6 months of working in a group home for girls I advocated to change my direction as a Social Worker into a more a clinical therapy approach and got my third Internship at Chrysalis, a domestic violence shelter, doing therapy for children and women that were victims of domestic abuse.

After graduating from ASU with my MSW in 2010 it was nearly impossible to find a job as a therapist due to the economy so I decided to stay in the field and took a job as a Direct Care Staff at  Devereux Arizona. After working a year in Direct Care I was able to get a job as a Shadow (Therapist) at ANASAZI, a Therapeutic Wilderness Program. I absolutely loved the people I met, the power of outdoor therapy, and the belonging place (WE) I felt and continue to feel being part of the ANASAZI Tribe.

After working at ANASAZI for 3+ years it was time for me to move to Utah closer to my family--in particular my nieces and nephew. So I took a job working as a Therapist at the Oakley Therapeutic Boarding School in Oakley, UT.  I loved living in Sugarhouse (SLC) and working out in Oakley but after almost 3 years I decided to take a job at a brand new program called Telos U in Orem, UT.

I currently work at Telos U with young adults who are struggling with processing issues, on the high end of the autism spectrum, depression, anxiety, gaming, pornography, learning disorders, and more. Together with an entire team of professionals we help these guys gain independent living skills so they can successful launch. In my free time I also run a small therapy private practice and co-run a nonprofit INSPIRE: music.service.hope.